Freak show Hamburg

28 Jul

For us down in Munich, Hamburg is maybe kind of a wechselgänger. The other big city on the other side of Germany. Much more cool and more charming as our well-behaved Bavarian capital but also kind of freaky (if you come back from a wedding at 5 am and run into all those drunken party tourists on Reeperbahn).

After some days at my parents-in-law in Lüneburg (see the pictures here and here), we got to Hamburg for a wedding. I’ve done a lot of pictures of friends and their babies, I’d love to show you. But I don’t want to show people on the internet without their agreement, so no portraits here so far. Apart from celebrating all night, we still had a little time the next day to take a walk and see some things – Reeperbahn, DOM (a fair that reminds me pretty much of Oktoberfest, just without the beer) and the modern architecture (which I’m not that big fan of, I like it old-fashioned). Hamburg DOM in sunset Panoptikum in Hamburg Germany A skyline mirrored in Hamburg

And what else?

Watched two movies this week that I really liked. What Maisie Knew is a cute film about awful parents with adorable Alexander Skarsgård and pretty Joanna Vanderham. Coraline is a fantastic stop motion fairy tale in Tim Burton tradition. Don’t miss that if you like animation pictures like A Nightmare Before Christmas!

2 Responses to “Freak show Hamburg”

  1. Mark Samaan 16. September 2013 at 22:52 #

    I love Colins. I’m going to Hamburg soon. Do you like Scotch Eggs?

    • colin. the happy robot 17. September 2013 at 08:15 #

      Uh, no, not really. I’m a vegetarian. And I don’t think they are very common in Germany. Have fun in Hamburg!

Tell me something

